The VENT

Has a good intention gone wrong?

>

Teachermaybe

Teachermaybe

Has a good intention gone wrong?
Old 09-01-2018, 09:04 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi! I am an alternative teaching student who is working part time as a substitute while working on my training. I've been doing it for a little over 6 months (including last semester) and though I am not certified yet my school district has hired me as a long term sub for a fourth grade classroom.

One of my students comes from a not so great background and I have formed a bond with him. He has been constantly telling me how much he loves airplanes but has never seen one in real life before. Well coincidentally I have a connection with a pilot at the local airport and thought to have this child come out and have a really cool experience. I got in contact with his parents and they loved the idea. After I got the green light from the parents I set up the event with the pilot and went to invite my co-teacher to come as well so that way everyone would be included and feel comfortable about it.

At first she was all for it and told me that I needed to run it by our principal who also thought it was great idea. The principal even helped me get in contact with a local community person who also does things like this for kids. Well that's were the good ends and the confusion and whip lash starts. By the end of the school day my co-teacher is blowing up my phone telling me I need to call it off that both she and the teacher I am long term subbing for don't like and are uncomfortable with me doing this for our student. She tells me that I as a long term sub do not need to be making trouble for her and the parents that since I'm only going to be there for a short time it wasn't my place and that I needed to never do something like this again.