Help

BusyBoard

I am a boring math teacher

>

PindleLou888

I am a boring math teacher
Old 10-28-2018, 08:01 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I teach 4th grade. I never had to take "Math for Teachers" in college because I tested out. Big mistake. I am a boring math teacher. I struggle to use manipulatives and I end up teaching the old-fashioned way. That's been working ok, but I want to be more engaging! I am getting observed on Tuesday and I want to have an engaging lesson.

We are working on division one-digit into 2 or 3 digit with and without remainders. Is there a hands-on way to do this? They kind of understand the "standard algorithm" but not really. Thanks for any and all help!!!

PindleLou888 is offline   Reply With Quote

kahluablast

Old 10-28-2018, 08:36 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I don't do 4th grade... Wondered if you have looked at videos on Kahn academy or Learnzillion for ideas? You can recreate the lessons from the sites.
kahluablast is offline   Reply With Quote

TexTea

Base 10 blocks?
Old 10-28-2018, 08:38 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Would using base 10 blocks help? I haven't taught fourth, but it seems like base 10 blocks are used in every grade level for various concepts. If they know the algorithm, have them do it with the base 10 blocks. Are you making up good story problems to go with your lesson, like using their names in the stories? Word of caution: if you haven't been using base 10 blocks, starting with your observation would not be a good idea. They like to play with them and build. Or give them 2-3 minutes to play before using them in lesson.
TexTea is offline   Reply With Quote

hoku625

Engaging math
Old 10-28-2018, 09:17 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4