The VENT

Micromanaging

>

Logout

Logout

Micromanaging
Old 10-22-2019, 05:58 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am one of 4 k teachers I'm new to the team. The lead teacher has been teaching k for 20 years. I've been teaching k for 6, but overall since 2002. For writing, she does a Me Bag where the kids take home a bag and put a toy in it, share it, then the kids write about it. I chose not to do it this way but I am still doing sharing and writing.

Last week my admin pops in while we are doing writing and she sends me an email asking why I am not doing what the other k teachers are doing and she wants me to explain how I am using my way if writing to promote academic discourse and authentic writing opportunities. I immediately send her an email and I can answer her questions thoroughly.

Yesterday after dropping the kids at the bus, I walk in to find a support teacher with the same level of education and experience I have sitting there with the admin's email. Shes asking me to justify my writing lessons because it's different. Noe shes going to come observe writing tomorrow so we can meet after school and discuss it. Even though my observation is next week in writing. It seems like they dont acknowledge any of my previous experience and they all treat me like I dont know what I'm doing. It's got my stomach all tied up in knots and my anxiety is high all the time.

NJ Teacher

So sorry...
Old 10-22-2019, 10:06 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

In many places, including the district I retired from, the administration seems to want robots all doing the same thing at the same time. After 20 years, you are certainly no newbie, and this is not your first rodeo. You had all the right answers for the principal's inquiry, yet there doesn't seem to be the professional respect and an ability to understand that there are many different ways to reach a standard.