Help

Substitute Teachers

Help...

>

tyekayleen

Help...
Old 01-04-2010, 01:29 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am currently a substitute teacher, which is AWESOME! Problem is.. I finished college early so I am 20 and look like it. I have several problems with this situation.

1. I feel as though some of the other teachers do not respect me because of my age. They do not think I can do this job - but I can! It seems as though once I do sub for a teacher, they see my ability... but many seem to judge me simply on my age. I finished the SAME college classes as everyone else. WITH HONORS! I am good at my job, I love my job. I wish they could see this.

2. Whenever I teach 4 grade and on... I am constantly being "hit on" by the boys. I have to constantly watch what is said and have had to unfortunately get principals involved. It's annoying, frustrating, and disruptive.

3. I feel like the upper grades (6-8) just won't take me seriously. I feel like I end up being much more of a nag with these grades because they are rude and do not follow my directions and it becomes very stressful by the end of the day. I've tried numerous ways of keeping color of them and rewarding them for their GOOD behavior... it just doesn't really seem to be making a difference with them. I don't want to constantly be on their cases... but what else do I do?

Help!

tyekayleen is offline   Reply With Quote

ciounoi

Old 01-04-2010, 02:05 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I feel your pain. I am 24 but I look like I am 14... I'm also very short, so that doesn't help. Luckily (I guess) I am plain and don't do makeup, so I don't have many problems with boys. It does happen from time to time.