Help

The VENT

WHY is there homework on weekends????

>

g8rFan

WHY is there homework on weekends????
Old 02-09-2014, 03:57 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

My 7th grade DD is overloaded with homework this weekend. I don't understand this!! Homework is controversial already...but isn't the weekend supposed to be family/activity/down time? I am a teacher and I NEVER assign HW over the weekend.

DD is a competitive gymnast. She had a meet 3 hours away today, which basically took the entire day. She worked on homework yesterday, today in the car on the way back from the meet, and now this evening. She is exhausted and I am frustrated.

Having a child almost in tears, complaining of a headache, and making her say not nice things about her teachers is NOT helping her to learn a thing.

Vent over. Just so tired of homework assigned on weekends.

g8rFan is offline   Reply With Quote

TeachNut

Old 02-09-2014, 04:13 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Here in California, it's actually against Ed code to assign homework on the weekends. I'd check your states ed code and see if its the same and take it to the teacher/school and state you expect no more weekend assignments.
TeachNut is offline   Reply With Quote

Daphne333

Homework
Old 02-09-2014, 04:22 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I assign homework if they didn't finish it during class. It has to be done no matter what day it falls on. I have to turn scores in and get talked to if scores aren't recorded and work isn't fixed by the student.
Daphne333 is offline   Reply With Quote

pink.sparkles

Old 02-09-2014, 04:33 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I generally do not assign homework on the weekend, but I am in the minority. I teach fifth grade and most teachers do assign it from fifth grade up. I haven't heard of it below fifth grade, though. I am in MA- maybe we are the minority?
pink.sparkles is offline   Reply With Quote

GreyhoundGirl

Old 02-09-2014, 04:39 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5