Help

The VENT

Special ed

>

teach123

Special ed
Old 02-27-2018, 03:57 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

We have a new special teacher for the upper grades. I am a general ed teacher with 8 IEP students and 4 504 plan students. In the past the special ed teacher was responsible for filling out the IEP but now it is on us. We got an email saying it would help preserve her planning time if we could fill out all but the goals. That equals about 8 pages we have to fill out which easily takes all of my planning time is this common in other schools? She doesn't even do lesson plans or grade papers so I don't know why her planning time is more important. We are also having to arrange coverage for our class because she holds meetings at times other than our planning period. If I don't get this off my chest I am going to explode. Two whole planning to fill out her paperwork, two classes I can't teach due to her meetings, and an email today saying I filled it out wrong- I have to use Word not Google docs! There has got to be a better job for me somewhere.

teach123 is offline   Reply With Quote

sportsmom88

Old 02-27-2018, 04:06 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I am not sure what state you live in, but in Iowa it is not legal for me a gen ed teacher to fill out an IEP. Does your admin know this is happening? I think I would be asking very loudly if this is legal. Good luck!
sportsmom88 is offline   Reply With Quote

FLteachESE

Old 02-27-2018, 04:22 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

No no no, in our state, a gen ed teacher does not fill out or write any part of the IEP. The sped teacher does.
FLteachESE is offline   Reply With Quote

klarabelle

Old 02-27-2018, 04:37 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I never heard of such a thing and would be checking with P/AP if s/he is not the person sending out the emails.
klarabelle is offline   Reply With Quote

Zia

Old 02-27-2018, 04:37 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

I have IEP paperwork...not goals though. And a REED is more involved.