Para keeps getting pulled - IEP out of compliance! - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

The VENT

Para keeps getting pulled - IEP out of compliance!

>

TeachPeaceNE

TeachPeaceNE

Para keeps getting pulled - IEP out of compliance!
Old 09-16-2019, 06:20 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

My class this year is pretty loaded with students on IEPs and 504s. This typically happens to only one teacher per grade level due to funding problems (no money for paras for multiple rooms). For the past 5 years I am the lucky winner of these loaded classes, I assume because I am a former sped teacher.

The problem is that this year, three of my students really should have one on ones. Iím talking hitting, kicking, bolting, property destruction, toileting problems, noncompliance. Unfortunately, thereís no money in Tyne budget for that, so their IEPs just say ďparaĒ and not one on one. The problem is, the para who works with these kids has to leave the room for 1-2 hours a day due to being the one person who can restrain my bolter/hitter/kicker/biter. This leaves all of my other students without support, specifically two who are on the spectrum and are supposed to have a full time para with them.

Iíve asked the sped chairperson for a meeting to figure out a plan ensuring support and compliance for services. I was told to just deal with it because there is no money. Specifically deal with it by just having the 4 other students on IEPs sit with me in a small group when the para isnít available.

WTF do I do here? What about the other 24 kids?

1tired

All I can say is I am sorry!
Old 09-16-2019, 09:41 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I have been there and done that for 1 yr only and I am not a sped teacher even. I don't know how you could survive 5 yrs of that! When will they learn that kickers, hitters, runners, spitters,and biters do not belong in a regular ed classroom without major support? As in someone who has the power to remove them when they get violent.