Special Education

Paraprofessional overstepping

>

bms1920

bms1920

Paraprofessional overstepping
Old 12-10-2019, 05:31 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am having an issue with my paraprofessional... this is my first year at the school I am out, but 3rd full year as a teacher. I feel confident in my abilities as a teacher, but I also have made it clear to my para that I respect her suggestions and am always open to listening to what she has to say. However, recently she has really been overstepping. She has walked in to my class multiple times and interrupted me teaching to tell the kids what they should be doing instead. She completely disregards anything I tell the kids and tries to instead tell them what she wants them to do or what she wants to allow them to do. I have approached the issue subtly up until now. Today, I was at a training. I came back to find that my para had erased my entire agenda and rewrote it the way she wanted it. She ignored what I told the sub to have the students do and had them do something completely different.

I decided to confront her about this issue and explain that in the future she needs to run these things by me. I explained her I respect her and am always open to suggestions, but that we need to be consistent and she needs to make suggestions to me instead of just changing things in my room. She told me I was being dramatic. I told her I was sorry she felt this way, but that I felt this issue needed to be addressed. What would you do at this point? Any suggestions? Also do you agree that she completely overstepped??

momteachsis

Yes, she overstepped
Old 12-11-2019, 09:02 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

It sounds like you are open to her input, but realize that it is your license and name on all Sped paperwork.
If there are problem with schedule changes, or lesson issues when I'm out, I do tell the sub to let the paras make changes as necessary, but only if there's an issue.