Intervention & Title I Services

Classroom to Title I

>

Amy NC

Amy NC

Classroom to Title I
Old 03-31-2007, 05:08 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I was a Title I teacher and transferred into the classroom. I have been okay in the classroom. I get many needy students. I am frustrated by that. I see the neighboring rooms who get 1 academically challenged child and I have at least 4-5 each year.

There is a chance to go back to Title I. I see some changes with the early intervention. (In our district serving K ) Classes have been pull out. I am hearing rumors of less testing for LD. That leads me to think I will continue to get the needy population. I find helping these kids to be very difficult because by the time they make it to me their ability to read the text is not there. Their fluency rate is 1 year below level at least in my room.

How much has changed in Title I ? I have read the posting and see information about reading coaches. Are there new rules? Do they want pull out or push in? Do you service more kids but for shorter time periods? What is going on?

Thoughts welcomed.

MrsM

Old 04-01-2007, 05:14 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

You didn't say how long you have been in the classroom. In my school, literacy coach is being added through the district budget, not Title I. The only thing that will change for me is having an additional person observe in my room, maybe some in-services to attend. Her job will be to ensure that all teachers are teaching reading in the most effective ways as shown by research, and so she will observe and coach the teachers. I will still be doing pull-out, small groups, 30 minutes every day. You can find the post below that has the states listed for Title I guidelines, and if I didn't find your state, let me know what it is and I will start looking.
MrsM is offline   Reply With Quote

Susan/IN

Title I/LD
Old 04-01-2007, 05:53 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3