Substitute Teachers

Beligerence and mocking in art

>

joeo

joeo

Beligerence and mocking in art
Old 09-17-2009, 11:35 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a seasoned art teacher but have had this student in middle school in my art class, who from the first day of the year, comes in and mocks everything I'm teaching. I also have administrators who just send him back to my class when I call them to remove him! I feel I have no support from administrators. I already called up the parent, who is leaving for jail in about a week. So this kid comes into my class and disrupts with mocking comments, doesn't pay attention to my asking him to stop and gets the rest of the class to laugh at everything he says while I'm waiting for an administrator to remove him. They take him away for 2 minutes then bring him back for more damage. The student is special education in a class with about 7 other special education eighth grade boys and then the rest of the class is just immature 8th grade boys who pick up on the "ring leader's" cues and mock.
The first class this child left my class mocking my rules by reading them out loud while he SLOWLY left my class. I immediately wrote him up and called the father. The next class he was quite, until I started reading a book and then he mocked the book by making pretend to be crying, to much of the entertainment of the class. The third class he came in late , took off his sneaker (after I asked him to stop) and showed it to the whole class. I quietly went over to the phone and called the administrators. He continued with his sneaker, I walked over to him and said did he realize he was being rude and he said Yep- that's me, I'm the worst in the world and laughed.