Career Decisions

Leaving and letters of reference?

>

New/Confused

New/Confused

Leaving and letters of reference?
Old 01-09-2018, 05:43 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a first year teacher in a large district, and am hoping to resign and find a new job for next year. I miss teaching middle schoolers (currently with 10th grade), and the district I'm in is very strict on what we can teach, so I don't feel like I'm best serving my students. These factors aren't likely to change, so I'm looking to find a new school that is a better fit. Because it is my first year, I'm not sure how this whole process works. I knew how to get my first job-- my teacher ed program made me very prepared for that-- but I don't know how to go about leaving one in pursuit of another! So I'm in search of some advice...
When applying for new positions, should I have a letter of reference from someone in my current school? Something tells me I should, but I don't feel like its appropriate to ask my admin (or even tell them before I'm a finalist for a position), and my head of department has never seen me teach. Is it okay for my references to come from student teaching/college if I've only taught for one year, or is that frowned upon? Who else could I consider asking, or should I ask admin?

WGReading

Old 01-17-2018, 08:47 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2