The VENT

best answer to intent to return?

>

needadvicee

needadvicee

best answer to intent to return?
Old 02-18-2021, 08:41 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm planning to apply to a DoD school(which is a long shot since I have no military background) Now, with the "intent to return" due tomorrow, I wonder if I have to be honest by choosing "not sure" (about returning to my current school). I'd like to have a safe bet in case my application to DoD schools don't work out well. Will it give the admin any negative hint that I'm trying to leave? Any possibility that they will not renew my contract? Or, what if I choose "Yes, I'll return" and not sign the contract months later because I got an offer from my dream DoD school? Will it offend the admin one way or the other?

With the possibility of future employer contacting my current admin for references, I want to hear from you who jumped ships safely.

2teach2

Old 02-18-2021, 09:32 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Twenty one years ago, I signed my letter of intent at the end of the school year with my then-district, but was hired by another district in July. I was released from my contract with no problem. My principal was aware that I was hoping to find a teaching position closer to my home, so she had no problem letting me out of my contract. Does your admin know that you are applying for another job? I'm sure it has probably happened in your district where someone said that they would return, but then didn't return for one reason or another. Maybe you could check with your union rep to be sure.
2teach2 is offline   Reply With Quote

dutchgirl

Old 02-19-2021, 12:09 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3