New Teachers

First year teacher-advice needed!

>

hsteacher09

First year teacher-advice needed!
Old 08-13-2011, 10:12 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello!

I am a new teacher this coming year. I will be teaching ninth grade English and I would like some advice on setting up my classroom, setting up and maintaining an effective classroom management plan, and should I hang my classroom "guidelines" (rules) in the classroom as well as put them on my syllabus? I am sure I will have tons more questions, but these are all I can think of for now! Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

hsteacher09 is offline   Reply With Quote

Engtchr5555

Engtchr5555

A good blog to help
Old 08-15-2011, 09:29 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Http://teachingadvice.wordpress.com

Lots of good ideas for classroom setup, management, etc. Enjoy!

teacherman

Old 08-20-2011, 05:59 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I am not a high school teacher, but I do post my rules and think it is a good idea, especially since your students are transitioning from junior high or elementary school, where that is common practice.

Without specifics, it is hard to give advice on setting up a classroom, but your layout should match up with how you want the class to function. If your class will be doing a lot of group work or small group discussions, then the room should be arranged as such, if you are envisioning more whole class work, then maybe the desks should be arranged in a large circle. If it will be a lot of independent work and note taking, then maybe you want the students in rows. Also make sure it is easy for you and for the students to walk around the room and make supplies easily accessible.