Ignorance is not bliss...

>

flustered

flustered

Ignorance is not bliss...
Old 12-27-2011, 09:33 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello All!

I started teaching half way through last year and was thankful for the early experience. I felt that having my first year half as long helped me refine it for the next year quickly. However, I feel like I am always behind and that this year I am being asked to do too much. My frustration at the moment is that I can't decide if it is me making the task of teaching more difficult or if I genuinely have a difficult road and need to get more support from my administration. Being a new teacher I am ignorant as to what a "normal" load should look like and if there is too much being asked of me now.

This year I have 4 special ed. students and 3 on RtI. I only get in class support 30 minutes a day twice a day. All 4 of my special ed. students require me to read directions out loud, so I usually have my entire class listen as a read directions, etc. Two of my special ed. students also require one-on-one assistance all day. I usually try to link them with a peer buddy, so that I can help my other students that are struggling. However, I feel that the difference in rigor between 1st and 2nd grade is creating a divide with these students that my other students can't be held back for. I have their ARD's coming up and I feel like nothing is going to change. We have a new special education liason this year and going to her hasn't gotten me very far, as she is still trying to figure out her position. Am I asking too much if I wanted a co-teach? Or at least someone to help my autistic students all day? I student taught in a class equal to mine and there was a my mentor teacher, a co-teacher and one person for one-on-one support with a particular student. I'm assuming the budget cuts won't allow for this same thing in my classroom.