Third Grade

Departmentalized or Self-Contained

>

fwhite1

Departmentalized or Self-Contained
Old 06-24-2016, 08:29 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello everyone,

I have been teaching self-contained third grade for 3 years. I am going to a new school next year and they are exploring the possibility of departmentalizing our grade level, with me teaching ELA. Does anyone have any experience with this? Just want to hear the pros and cons of third graders switching classes.

Kyteachmath

Ehh
Old 06-24-2016, 12:31 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

My school is departmentalized. It is tough. The students are young and when they switched between more than 2 teachers they get confused. I tell them specifically what to take with them every morning because they are not used to planning for their day. By November most have gotten the hang of it.
It is hard to coordinate with other teachers if they aren't "team players". Parent contact can be difficult because they usually call hr teachers and the issue may be in a different class and you have no idea about it.

The good part is you can really focus on your subject and know it very well. It is easier to do lesson planning. You don't have to spend all day with "that" student but you also don't get to keep the students you love.

mommy9298

Old 06-24-2016, 01:27 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I have done it in fourth grade. I am moving back to third and I want to departmentalize. In fourth grade we had the students take their backpacks with them to the other classes. They packed up in the morning and at lunch. The textbooks stayed in the desks and each class used the book in the desk so they didn't carry it. I like departmentalizing for several reasons. Planning, you don't have the same students all day, and you can really focus on one or two subjects to teach.

PrivateEyes

I heartily disagree with switching
Old 06-25-2016, 03:54 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4