Help

Substitute Teachers

No more middle school.

>

RadSub19

No more middle school.
Old 11-09-2009, 01:15 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I've been subbing for 3 years and I'm totally sick of working at the middle school in one district.

My list of grievances:

the sub caller doesn't know what grade levels the teachers teach! She'll call me and tell me its 5th grade and when I get to school its 7th or 8th (which I don't do!)

They always call me for 7th and 8th grade and then the secretary seems mad at me when I say no...see above! I don't like it! My personality doesn't mesh with that age! Don't call me...don't waste your time.

I used to try to get there early, like 15-20 min early to get my stuff put away, use the bathroom, look over plans etc. The secretary told me that it wasn't advantageous for me to get there so early because "the janitors don't have the doors unlocked yet!" So now I go in at the last second...and run around like a chicken with my head cut off! GAHHH!

And last but not least, the constantly change my job assignment without telling me. They may WARN me that it might happen...but I don't know 100% who I'll be until I get to school in the morning. For example, Friday I was told I was going to be one person, but if someone else called off, I'd be switched. I came in this morning and lo and behold!!! I was NOT who I thought I'd be.

ALSO today, the teacher's lesson plans were NOT up to date. The plans were confusing and some of the lessons had already been completed!!!!!!! So I tried to go ahead and do the next lesson and the kids freak out because I don't do things the same as the teacher. This was learning support. Most of the time, these kids are awesome! Small groups, fun lessons. But today it was awful. I will NOT sub for this teacher again.

Please note that this district is short on subs at the moment. They are advertising for more subs. But they are going to have a hard time getting subs into the MS due to the horrible way they treat us.