Help

Early Childhood Education (Pre-K)

need input

>

melindabelle

need input
Old 09-06-2012, 06:34 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a student taking Early Childhood Classes and I am hoping that a few teachers here will help me out. I am asked to interview a few teachers and note their responses.

1. What does the term "developmentally appropriate practice" means to you?

2. Give examples of ways that your classroom practices are developmentally appropriate.

3. Describe ways you meet individual needs in your classrooms.

Thank you to all for taking the time to do this. Melinda

melindabelle is offline   Reply With Quote

overthemoon

Old 09-07-2012, 12:43 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I teach 4 year olds. Developmentally appropriate means to me that I provide instruction and activities that are appropriate for that age group. For example, I would not expect my children to sit and listen to direct instruction for more than about 15 minutes at a time. I provide music and movement activities as part of circle time because I realize they need to move around and cannot sit still for very long. I also do not expect them to do worksheets or write on lined paper. Children at age 4 do not have the fine motor skills necessary to do this. It is more developmentally appropriate to have them write on unlined paper. To meet individual needs, I work with small groups of children or sometimes do one on one instruction. I do this during center time while other children are busily engaged in activities. Hope this helps.
overthemoon is offline   Reply With Quote

PoochLover

To melindabelle
Old 09-07-2012, 02:41 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Hi, :-)