Kishkumen

Kishkumen Classroom Challenge
Old 02-01-2019, 05:45 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Here's the challenge:
•You may only use whole-class consequences
•call-back signals are no longer allowed
•Instruction cannot continue if there are students talking
•Consequences for individual students are allowed, but flip a coin first. If you get tails, consequences are applied to a random student in the classroom
•After six months, explain to admin why your class is out of control

This is what I deal with every day:
-Sensory overload prevents me from determining who is talking, so I can only use whole-class consequences. Those are limited, because I'm a specials teacher, and cannot hold students back from recess.
-Call-back signals are simply ignored by the class, and are increasingly ineffective.
-Admin and other teachers suggest that I do not start teaching until the class is quiet.
-If I do determine the source of disruption, half the time I'm wrong and apply consequences to an innocent student.
-Admin tells me to "develop a better relationship" with my students

Kishkumen is offline   Reply With Quote

kahluablast

Old 02-01-2019, 06:04 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

You have posted about this before and got some good feedback. Have you implemented any of it? What worked and didn't work?

I don't teach art but I would probably start by giving my classes basic directions in the hall. They wouldn't come in until they had them. I would set limits on certain behaviors and enforce them. Chairs around the outside of the room for nonparticants to sit in. Class reward for following rules (sticker chart). They would leave with a grade for the day.