Help

The VENT

Coping Until I Leave (Long Post)

>

esmith13

Coping Until I Leave (Long Post)
Old 02-04-2019, 06:02 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a full-time teacher, part-time real estate investor and licensed realtor. I've been teaching now for about a decade and even though teaching would get on my nerves from time to time, I used to always believe that it was something I would be doing for at least 20+ more years and real estate would just be a nice little side hustle to earn more money. Over the last couple of years however, I've started to become more and more fed up with teaching and I'm ready to leave the profession.

Before I officially entered the classroom, I believed that kids would be the biggest issue, but one thing I have learned over the last few years is that the adults involved in this profession have gotten on my nerves more than the children. From the parents who defend their kids no matter what, the conniving co-workers who throw others under the bus, the administrators who are either incompetent or are over-the-top, and the state legislators who pass laws about education that have an adverse impact on educators, it's all getting to be too much to deal with on a regular basis.

I used to be excited about having the students create meaningful projects and that were content-area related, but my particular district has become so fixated on test scores that there's not really much time for creativity and meaningful lessons. Some days I feel like I'm just herding sheep or cats all day long. I don't enter the classroom just doing the bare minimum to get through the day because after all, the kids still need me to give them an education and I always said I wouldn't become the teacher who does the bare minimum, but I'm finding it harder for me to put on a happy face and fake it.