The VENT

Lay offs/rifs.

>

iloveglitter2

Lay offs/rifs.
Old 02-06-2019, 04:59 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello,
I was wondering how common being laid off is for other teachers in other areas? I am a third year teacher and so far I have been laid off from enrollment decline each year. I finally got a school I loved and a grade I loved. I am so heartbroken! Wondering if I should look another areas!

iloveglitter2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Ima Teacher

Old 02-06-2019, 06:19 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I started teaching in 1993. At that time, it was very, very common for all non-tenured teachers to be let go at the end of the year. Most were rehired once numbers were settled and funding approved. I was let go by to schools in the same school every year for four years. Once I was rehired two weeks after school started, twice over the summer, and once at the same meeting where I was given my dismissal letter.
Ima Teacher is offline   Reply With Quote

Haley23

Old 02-06-2019, 06:30 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

The schools I've worked in have had enough turnover that nobody ever got laid off. Even if there are fewer positions available for the next year, enough people leave on their own to account for those.

My state is not great for teachers to begin with and I've only worked in low SES schools. I'm sure it's different in the more affluent areas. That's the thing about jobs- if you're in an area where they are easy to get, that most likely means conditions aren't great. Conditions for teachers are great in my home state, but it's almost impossible to get a job.
Haley23 is online now   Reply With Quote

GreyhoundGirl

Old 02-06-2019, 07:25 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I was RIF’d the first 2 years in my current district and rehired both times before school started. That was a decade ago. Now, we don’t have enough teachers to fill the hard-to-full positions (not elementary).
GreyhoundGirl is offline   Reply With Quote

WGReading

Old 02-06-2019, 07:40 PM