Help

The VENT

Teacher Certification Renewal and Questions

>

kbbr

Teacher Certification Renewal and Questions
Old 01-08-2020, 06:35 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Should I renew my certification and keep searching for a teaching position, or should I just give up at this point?

I hold a valid teaching license for two states. I'm a fairly good student and enjoy learning, but I've found teaching to be pretty difficult. I've often run into situations where the students won't listen to what I have to say. Plus, I have trouble creating my own lessons and have to rely on resources already provided to me, and I haven't found my more experienced colleagues supportive at all.

I already have a master's degree in Education and have gone through all of the training required to be a teacher. I think teacher training left a lot of things out, though. For one thing, I don't remember ever having to create a teaching portfolio.

Yes, I do have a few faults. I'm disorganized, easily distractable, and have trouble teaching myself when I need to find a lot of my own resources. Whereas people can learn things from Udemy and MOOCS, I often have to opt for traditional online learning to feel like I'm getting anything out of all of it. Is not being able to teach myself and adjust really quickly to change keeping me from succeeding as a teacher?

Have you ever run into people with my problem? What would you recommend for them?

kbbr is offline   Reply With Quote

Ima Teacher

Old 01-08-2020, 05:08 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Quote:
Is not being able to teach myself and adjust really quickly to change keeping me from succeeding as a teacher?
That’s a definite possibility. Being flexible and resourceful is necessary.

Quote:
I haven't found my more experienced colleagues supportive at all.