Is This Normal?

>

4thgrade392

4thgrade392

Is This Normal?
Old 05-25-2013, 08:41 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello,

This is my first year teaching 4th grade. For most of the year, I have really enjoyed my students. They have been sweet, respectful, and hard workers. I have had a few behavior issues in my class this year, but nothing serious. However, throughout the past month or two, things have changed. As we approach summer, my students have started to really act up. Some of the girls have developed an attitude and there just seems to be this lack of respect for my authority. We only have two weeks left of school, and this is when I've really noticed it. The kids have started to question me, talk back, and just disregard classroom rules and expectations. Also, there's tons of girl drama, and almost every day, girls come up to me and say other students are being mean to them or I'm being mean to them.

It is so disappointing, especially since consequences don't seem to work and I've run out of incentives.

Is this pretty normal for end of the year 4th grade?

Thanks for any feedback.

dee

Typical
Old 05-25-2013, 08:48 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I've taught 1st, 5th, and 6th.

I have had to come down hard at the end of the year, with earned incentives. Once they don't get to do something, they are better so they can do the other things.

I let them know of the planned activities for the week, and emphasize that they are GROUP activities, and the entire GROUP has to earn whatever it is. Sometimes it's been something like freeze pops on a hot day, other times it's doing our writing work outdoors.

Once I have followed through on a promise NOT to do an activity due to their behavior, they are generally at least tolerable.

If it's really only one or two, try to do more individual accountability.
dee is offline   Reply With Quote

smq7656

Old 05-25-2013, 09:21 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3