Help

The VENT

Know It Alls

>

SunShining

Know It Alls
Old 12-09-2017, 11:28 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I feel guilty venting because I try to be positive and kind towards everyone. But this teacher is driving me up the wall.

I'm a second year teacher but worked in my school as a reading assistant for a few years after college until a 1st grade position came up. First of all, I by no means claim to know everything or believe that my way is the best way. I make mistakes (lots!) but really just want to do what is best for my students. When I worked in reading intervention, we used some "old school" methods that alot of people frown upon but our kids were never bored and they made amazing progress is foundational skills. That teacher left, and this year we have a new reading teacher who is awesome and I love her. She has been a classroom teacher for quite a while and is new to teaching intervention. She is doing things different than before, which doesn't bother me at all because it's her style. We have had lots of talks about my students that go to her and their progress, and it's obvious she wants to do what is best for them. She is very open to talking about different teaching strategies and techniques.