Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Teachers' Lounge

The perils (police!) and joys of walking

>

amiga13

The perils (police!) and joys of walking
Old 03-27-2020, 10:10 AM

You’ve all heard me talk about my daily walks with hiking poles (for balance & stability & a touch of upper body strength) and my need to occasionally stop to rest (my goal is 2020 miles in 2020, but I can’t walk 6 miles without a few rest breaks).

Part 1: Today a woman called to me from the opposite side of the street. I smiled and gestured to wait. I turned off the book I was listening to and smiled again, “Hi.”
She pointed at me. “You’re doing the hiking poles all wrong. You need to be lifting your hands to your shoulders then stabbing them down hard.” I stood speechless, so she continued, “I know, I’m a doctor.” I thanked her and kept walking.

Part 2: About 15 minutes after the encounter with the doctor, I was addressed by a policeman from his SUV. I was resting on this bench when he stopped to tell me, “You can’t sit there.” I looked around—look at the pic I took of the bench, imagine me sitting there and notice how crowded it is around me. He continued, “You can’t congregate here.” I looked around again. Seriously, people walk here, but there was no one within 100 feet. I asked him if I could walk and he said, “As long as you don’t congregate.”

Part 3: The hope. I liked the sign I saw on the local coffee place (my section of town is called Bird Rock). I do believe we’re all in this together.

Attachment

Sign in to view attachment. Not a member? Sign Up FREE
amiga13 is online now   Reply With Quote

KatieViolet

Old 03-27-2020, 10:21 AM

I can’t believe he said you couldn’t stop to rest. That’s taking things a little too far. I’d have been tempted to wait for him to move on and then return to the bench. Love the sign though!

Can I ask a question? How did you get the pic of you? Self timer?
KatieViolet is offline   Reply With Quote

Keltikmom

Walking
Old 03-27-2020, 10:27 AM