New teacher & surprised with a completely different subject to teach - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

The VENT

New teacher & surprised with a completely different subject to teach

>

Teach0101010

Teach0101010

New teacher & surprised with a completely different subject to teach
Old 09-06-2018, 06:53 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi all

I am a new teacher, both to my school and this is my first year. The school I got a job at is great! A dream come true for many teachers and I am thrilled! I verbally accepted the position of a biology teacher. Come the first day of school, I had one surprise section of a completely different prep. I couldnít even see what the class was on our system THE KIDS HAD TO TELL ME WHAT CLASS IT WAS. The class at 4 kids the first week. Then 3, then 7 and now it has 16 kids.
Come three weeks into school and every day they put more and more kids into that class, still.
What do I do? I do not want to teach this class. I was not told I would be teaching this class. I didnít even have time to prepare a syllabus for this class. Itís an elective and has no curriculum (yes you read that right) how am I, a first year teacher expected to navigate this. Especially while Iím teaching 5 other sections of a tested subject.
I feel lost because itís not fair to me or the kids that this is happening. Iím not putting my full energy into this class and whatís the point when every day a handful of kids come in new. Iím lost in that I donít even know if I have the right to say something to admin about how unfair the situation is.

Ameri

Old 09-06-2018, 08:03 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Are you the only one teaching an extra elective class? Or is this standard for everyone at your school and someone "forgot to mention" this to you when you interviewed?

What is the subject?
Ameri is offline   Reply With Quote

kyteacher1

Well.....
Old 09-06-2018, 08:07 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3