Special Education

out of control classroom

>

brande

brande

out of control classroom
Old 11-23-2005, 06:26 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi, I am a first year teacher teaching students with emotional and behavior disorders 3-5th grade. The beginning of the year was fine. But I have lost control of my classroom completely. Well I have no administration support. I have been told no DT's. I know and understand that my kids have behavior problems and suspending them is what they want. And that doesn't work. I have been told my the adminstrator that they don't have time to deal with my kids. I have a level system and for punishment students have to eat breakfast and lunch in my room and no recess but some days that works and some days it doesn't. My level system works pretty good b/c my kids hate to stay in for recess and for lunch. But lately nothing has been working. My kids are divided across my room and they have dividers to seperate them. They are constantly rewarded for the good things they do. I have a token economy and on friday's they earn a movie party. I am constontly giving verbal praise. But nothing is working right now. I am just not really sure what to do or where to go from here. If anyone has any ideas or suggestions please let me know. Thanks

Ruth

Ruth

Don't give up!
Old 11-26-2005, 06:00 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Brande~

Don't give up! I have learned a lot over the years about what works and what doesn't work. . . . .it takes experience. Here are some suggestions:

1) Typically, taking things from students does not work (i.e. recess); however, there are always exceptions

2) The token economy system is a good idea - is the movie the kid's choice or yours?
a) Put together a list of what the students want to work for - you
will have to decide what you can and can not deliver

b) Students are more likely to work for something that they have
chosen

3) Try to have enough reward choices to rotate so that the students do
not get tired of them