Help

Substitute Teachers

long term sub

>

substeph

long term sub
Old 03-05-2019, 01:49 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have an interview for a long term kindergarten sub position this week. I've never done one before. Of course I don't know if I will get it but apparently it starts next week Has anyone on here done a long term sub?

Pros? Cons? I'm just curious do they mostly leave lesson plans or would I have to do it all? I'm a little nervous about the interview and just wondering how your experiences with long terms have gone... thanks

substeph is offline   Reply With Quote

Ima Teacher

Old 03-05-2019, 03:08 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I did one long-term job for a maternity leave. That was mid year and the teacher was coming back. She left lessons for me.

The other one I did was a medical leave. That teacher did not plan to return, so I did all the lessons.

I enjoyed both of them. I found it was easier than day-to-day subbing because I was able to have more consistency with the kids. (They were high school classes.)
Ima Teacher is offline   Reply With Quote

CC96

No thanks!
Old 03-05-2019, 06:26 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Unless you are looking for a full time position in the district it is way too much work for too little pay.
CC96 is offline   Reply With Quote

OneGreatSub

Old 03-05-2019, 08:08 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

Do you enjoy subbing in kindergarten? I avoid it like the plague but have a friend who loves it. Assuming you like the little ones, I'd find out for sure in advance whether or not you have to "do it all" in terms of lesson planning and for how long. I once took a 6-week middle school assignment for the princely sum of $129/day and it felt like 6 years. So, there really is no one answer. If you enjoy 5 year olds, have a lot of stamina, and think the pay is enough, then give it some serious thought.
OneGreatSub is offline   Reply With Quote

substeph

Actually
Old 03-06-2019, 09:26 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #5