Substitute Teachers

To sub or not to sub?

>

EatPrayLove

To sub or not to sub?
Old 04-22-2019, 06:48 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi All!
I am moving to another part of Colorado and am finishing out my 13th year in my current district. I've been teaching for 23 years and have a growth mindset and am rated as 'highly effective'.

I'd like to take the year off from being a classroom teacher and sub instead so I get to know the district, get used to teaching math & science (we departmentalize at my school, and I taught language arts all these years).

I posted this on the general board, but wanted to see what you who are regular subs think.

A) What's the liklihood I'll get a full time teaching job after a year of subbing?
B) Any tips for my upcoming year of subbing?

Thanks so much!

EatPrayLove is offline   Reply With Quote

CC96

Best option
Old 04-23-2019, 05:47 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I would talk to other subs in the districts that you were subbing in and see how difficult it has been for them to get a full-time teaching job. Iím not sure how Colorado is , but where I live itís pretty difficult. Good thing Iím not looking for a full-time teaching job again. I taught for 20 years and Iím just subbing now. My choice!
CC96 is offline   Reply With Quote

mooba1

Old 04-23-2019, 05:48 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Itís not a bad idea to sub for a year and get the feel of a new district before you commit, as long as you can be financially secure during that time.

If you want to broaden your likelihood of working most days, then donít limit yourself to only the math and science jobs. Also, understand that it takes a while to become known as a good sub, so you probably wonít be busy right off the bat.

Youíll find that subbing is very different from teaching full time, though your teaching experience will serve you well.