Help

Substitute Teachers

How long does it take to get hired?

>

ArtOfMe

How long does it take to get hired?
Old 07-11-2012, 06:34 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I graduated with a bachelor's in secondary education in May and sent out my substitute teaching applications to five districts near where I live at the end of June. It's been two weeks and I haven't gotten any calls yet. I'm considering just looking for ANY full time job for the fall because I'm feeling anxious that no one will call.

How long does it usually take for districts to call you?

ArtOfMe is offline   Reply With Quote

OneOldGoat

Old 07-11-2012, 07:21 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I would call them. I'm on the list in two districts and if I don't get hired for the fall on contract, I'm going to add one more district. I had to call both of them... if you have a high-need endorsement (like math, science or special ed) they will usually put you on the list. It might just be too early for them to be dealing with getting people on the sub list.
OneOldGoat is offline   Reply With Quote

cannohara

Not sure
Old 07-11-2012, 10:18 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Where I am at, we sign up to be on the substitute list for various schools/districts. There are no applications.

I've only subbed for a year, but the majority of schools don't call me, they post their jobs on Aesop and I have to grab them before someone else does (although a couple of schools don't use the automated system).

Last year, I didn't get my first sub assignment until late September.

I just got a call today for an interview though. This will be my first one after a year of subbing and sending out 75 applications.

I have heard that some districts wait until August to do their hiring.

Good luck with your search!!
cannohara is offline   Reply With Quote

broomrider

I agree
Old 07-11-2012, 10:41 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4