Help

Substitute Teachers

Older Subs - like 65 or older

>

Southern Sub

Older Subs - like 65 or older
Old 07-27-2012, 07:24 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

If there are some older subs out there, I would like to hear from you. What age groups do you prefer to sub for. What are the biggest problems you have with subbing? Do you work full time or part time?

I'm curious because I'm wondering how long I will be able to do this job and still keep my sanity! I need to work and I enjoy subbing most days, but just wanted to know how many subs are out there in the same boat as me.

I have been subbing for about 6 years now and never tried High School, I've heard high school students are easier to deal with than ele. or Jr. High, but they intimidate me, don't know why. Any of you had experience with high school students? I have done Jr. High and don't care for the attitudes of this age group. I prefer 4th -6th, what do you think?

Are there any words of wisdom for us older subs?

Thanks ahead of time for your input!
Southern Sub

Southern Sub is offline   Reply With Quote

short_bread

i'm not
Old 07-27-2012, 08:02 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I'm not an older sub, i'm actually quite a young teacher, but from my experience as a sub for three years and what I've seen in my building, you can sub for as long as you want, as long as you are still on top of your game. I'm sure you've noticed that kids will definitely keep you on your toes, and once you lose that "with it" ness (for lack of a better phrase) the kids know it and will jump on it.

For example:

I had to go to a PD session all day this past school year and left my first grade class with a sub. Upon my return, I was informed that my kids were running around the room, playing hide and seek and having a wonderful time! Apparently the teacher next door had to call the principal and the principal went into my room while the sub just sat at my desk ALL DAY!