Help

Middle School/Jr High (6-8)

Incentive systems

>

mrteacherguy

Incentive systems
Old 07-21-2014, 09:51 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm trying to finish getting ready for the new school year, and I would like some input regarding incentive systems that have worked for other teachers. Last year, my first as a teacher, I had a lot of trouble with behavior management, although I found some things that worked towards the end.

One of them was giving team points each day, and the team with the most at the end of the week (sometimes two weeks) would get small bags of hot cheetos (something the students at my school will kill for). I also had a drawing system where individual students would get raffle tickets for a chance to pick from a bin of dollar store items.

Both of these worked, but I don't want to back myself into a corner regarding tangibles and food; that is, I don't want rewards like that to lose their special appeal nor to have to always be spending money.

I'll be teaching 6th grade science.

mrteacherguy is offline   Reply With Quote

Beach Glass

Punch Card
Old 07-21-2014, 10:02 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I have a punch card system going that relates to the behavior matrixes school-wide and classroom.

It works pretty simply, similar to punch cards at coffee places, etc. My card has 20 punches. Once the card is completely punched, there are ways students may choose to "spend" it. Skip a spocabulary quiz, free homework assignment, whatever you and/or the students come up with.

It's amazing how some kids saved their cards for when they really needed them - like skipping an assignment because they were sick or away because of sports. Others - well, it burned a hole in their pockets!

I found hole punches of different shapes that prevented dishonesty.
Attached Files
File Type: ppt Smiley punch small.ppt (62.0 KB, 91 views)
Beach Glass is offline   Reply With Quote

mrteacherguy

Hole punches
Old 07-22-2014, 12:08 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Beach Glass,