Help

Substitute Teachers

Rude!

>

louisey

Rude!
Old 12-14-2009, 01:10 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Today I subbed at the middle school in the district that I graduated from. Mind you, my aunt is the district clerk and my mom is the secretary at this particular school, so people know who I am. The teacher had a 1/2 day conference in the school, which was scheduled months ago, so she had plenty of time to get things prepared. When I got there, she just said "are you my sub?" She didn't introduce herself or say "hi." Nothing. Then I looked at her sub plans... she just wrote "Read the book aloud as a class and ask them some questions as you're going along. 9th period is studyhall." THAT'S IT. I had never read this particular book before, so it's a good thing I'm competent and can come up with discussion questions on the spot because she had NOTHING prepared. I was so taken aback!

THEN!!! 2 periods- she has a special ed teacher come in to co-teach.... well, she never said "hi"... never introduced herself, nothing!! She just walked in and strutted herself around the room and then told me she was leaving. I couldn't believe it!! I've heard these teachers have a reputation of being nasty, but I didn't know how true it was...

THEN!!! haha.... 9th period during studyhall, I let the kids talk quietly in their seats... and this one girl came up to me and said wow, I can't believe how crazy it is in here today. I asked her if they are normally allowed to talk and she said "no, we always have to sit silently until the last 5 minutes of class. If we don't have homework to do, we have to read a book." IT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE TO KNOW!!!