Help

The VENT

Teacher friends

>

Violet4

Teacher friends
Old 09-15-2019, 07:33 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Anyone else not really close to any teachers in their building (s)?

I'm not looking for advice on how to get closer I just wonder sometimes if other people have close friends mostly outside of work.

Violet4 is offline   Reply With Quote

cruxian

Old 09-15-2019, 07:55 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

It depends upon the situation, I think. (Not to be evasive.) I'm new at my current school but have taught with two teachers before and would consider them friends, as in I'll sometimes see them outside of school. (I'm kinda antisocial a lot lol.) The last school I was at, I had been there twelve years and considered many of the teachers for a long time and considered them friends. My closest friend is a former colleague. I do have other friends, largely those that I've met through DD's various activities.
cruxian is offline   Reply With Quote

all41

School Friends
Old 09-15-2019, 08:24 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I do not have close friends at the school I currently teach at. I've been at this school for 7 years and at first I had a small group of 4 teachers that I considered close friends. We went out to dinner, celebrated birthdays, attended school events together, and would get together to play games at each other's homes. Over time I came to see that our personalities are very different. Our get togethers turned into gossip/judging sessions about students, parents, and other staff. This made me incredibly uncomfortable, it was not what I considered enjoyable. Not to mention it was incredibly unprofessional as many of our meetings were in public places. I have since distanced myself from the group get togethers. I'm still friendly with them at school but we no longer have a friend relationship outside of our professional one. I would say that I'm not close friends with any of my coworkers and It can be lonely at times.