Help

Substitute Teachers

Greatful to be able to Sub

>

Sub14

Greatful to be able to Sub
Old 09-14-2012, 09:30 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I understand that some people are burnt out from subbing, and feel negatively about it, but I personally am greatful to be able to make twice the minimum wage, affect the future of kids, and be able to work 5 minutes from my home, while having the flexibility to work my schedule around it. This doesn't mean I don't get frustrated sometimes dealing with the kids, but I do keep things in perspective. Though I have a BAS Technology degree I know from applying for other jobs that I'd be hard pressed to get another job paying $14 an hour right now in this type of economy. I applied for many jobs over the summer for summer work, and out of all the resumes I sent out I only got one interview at macy's. They told me my availability wasn't good enough for what they were seeking so I didn't get the job. I was only able to get a temporary 3 day job over the entire summer, thank God I have savings. I'm sure most of the jobs I applied for weren't paying much more than minimum wage, amazing how even low paying jobs have become extra picky about who they will hire. Mind you I got a seasonal job at Hudson's, for pretty much the same position, almost 30 years ago as a teen, with only a high school diploma. But now with a BA degree I can't even get a retail job, lol.