Help

Special Education

Contract?

>

sped74

Contract?
Old 09-29-2009, 07:00 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have not been on this board in awhile. I am curious how to get out of my teaching contract. Well, these couple of weeks I have been in the doctor for testing on lab work,etc. I have been diagnosed with ulcers. I am a special education teacher. My job is mainly a lot of paper with stressful situations in the classroom. I want to resign my position due to this issue. I want to start subbing in another district and reduce my stress level. I am in Texas. I am curious can I get out of my contact or do I take medical leave. I am very confused. I feel I need some type of break before I get worse. My doctor has me on medication and has warned to lay off the stress. I am wanted to take at least a year off teaching or so. I feel I need to heal from this. I am planning to resign and give the board time to find someone to replace me is that possible. Yes, I understand I am going to take a pay cut but I feel my health is at risk. I donít know how to start this letter, if anything. Help.

sped74 is offline   Reply With Quote

blueheron

I did that.
Old 09-30-2009, 05:07 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I resigned for health issues from a teaching position that I had several years ago. My doctor wrote a short note explaining that I could not continue at the job because of health issues. I shuddered even now to think of myself in the doctor's office so traumatized that I couldn't speak, and had to write notes to her. My resignation letter was very short, as was my time line--2 days. I just stated that I was resigning, and when. I was not willing to wait around for them to find another person, because if they hadn't been so horrible I would not have been resigning in the first place. As an important aside, I was the second sped teacher to resign that year. As an even more important aside, we are both still working for the district and love our new schools.