Help

Magnolia Room

"Take a Break"

>

Dorsie

"Take a Break"
Old 08-11-2011, 05:20 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I just returned from a week long RC institute. The instructor says he uses a desk and chair that face the wall. What are your thought on this? I went into my room today and set up a desk and chair for my take a break (time-out) spot. How often do you send a child there and what are the usual reasons? This is SO new for me. Need some insight. TIA

kit1024

Old 08-11-2011, 06:40 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I'm new to this also - I've only read books, haven't gone to any training yet. From my understanding though, I thought the time out spot wasn't supposed to be facing away from the class. I thought children that get sent to time out were still supposed to be a part of the class (able to participate in the lesson, just removed from the large group for a little bit).

AddieJ

Old 08-11-2011, 08:33 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

This is a really good article on TAB -
http://www.originsonline.org/product..._search_result

There are other great articles on tab on the Originsonline website.

TAB is never a punishment - it's taught as a way to regain composure & maintain dignity (as stated in the article above - I love the example of "Alice" & "Jake"). Children are told to tab for the smallest infractions and that teaches everyone that mistakes are unavoidable - we all make them. Each child should be given the chance to tab. I never tell my kids to "think about what they did" or "think about what they can do when they return". I tell my kids to really just take a break!! Count to ten, take deep breaths, lay your head down, scribble on a paper if necessary...whatever it is they need that will help them rejoin the group. It's all a very smooth process when everyone understands why and when we take breaks.

Children shouldn't be facing away from the group; tab is in close proximity to the group - one ear on the instruction/able to participate if possible...

Gommergirl

Tab