Help

The VENT

manners

>

7more

manners
Old 06-30-2012, 10:08 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Is it just me or are people getting lazy? I sent in a movie gift card to my daughter's summer school teacher as a thank you for teaching her this summer. (Incoming Freshman taking a core class to get ahead) The teacher didn't bother to send a thank you card, email or a phone call to say he got it. This has happened to us a lot in junior high so I stopped giving gifts to her teachers. I hear teachers complain all the time about how their students never got them anything all year. Could it be because they didn't bother showing simple manners and thanking the gift giver?

7more is offline   Reply With Quote

amigurumi

Old 06-30-2012, 10:19 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I hear ya! We have yet to hear a thank you from a niece who was given a monetary gift for her high school graduation. Disappointing! As a teacher, I kept a stack of little thank you note cards in my drawer and made sure I jotted a thank you no matter what or how small the gift was. Just the way I was raised.
amigurumi is offline   Reply With Quote

SusanTeach

manners
Old 06-30-2012, 10:27 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I said the same thing about the middle school teachers years ago. I quit giving gifts to them for that reason. I remember giving a gift card to each teacher, and not one of them (there were 7) bothered to send a thank you note. I even had my son write a personal note inside the card, also. I can't help but wonder if they didn't even open the card, or they just aren't in the habit of writing thank you cards.

We never had that issue with elementary teachers - I'm not sure what the difference is!
SusanTeach is offline   Reply With Quote

Elemteach22

Old 06-30-2012, 12:56 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4