Help

Sunflower Room

letter to parents

>

1stgradenew

letter to parents
Old 07-23-2007, 05:31 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm wondering if anyone has a note about RW (and for that matter WW) that they give to parents on back to school night or when ever, that explains the layout and reasoning, etc. of workshops. I'm working on mine right now, and would love to see what others have done. I feel like I have to explain to parents what I'm doing, since no one else does at my school is doing it. I'm really regretting not making a video last year to show to parents and students this year!

KC2

Old 07-23-2007, 07:15 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

The video is a great idea! I will try to do that this year. I don't have a letter since it is my first year doing RW. I listed the steps of WW on our curriculum handout for Back to School Night, but parents didn't ask questions about it.

I'd be interested in seeing your letter when you are done. Thanks!

teacherdani21

Old 07-23-2007, 09:46 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I would love to see your letter as well. I, too, have been trying to come up with something, and haven't gotten around to sitting down and writing it! LOVE the video idea. I might have to do that this year, for next year's set of parents!

Curious Cat

Literacy Brochure
Old 07-23-2007, 10:10 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

My teammate and I created this brochure to give out. Hope this helps everyone.
Attached Files
File Type: doc literacy brochure 1PT.doc (40.0 KB, 210 views)
File Type: doc literacy brochure 2.doc (38.0 KB, 158 views)

eagertolearn

Letter Home
Old 07-23-2007, 10:14 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

I know she teaches 3rd grade, but Beth Newingham (Just google her name and it will link you to the webpage)has an awesome webpage that explains her reader's and writer's workshop. Maybe some ideas from there can be modified for a letter home to your parents. Hope this helps.

KC2

CuriousCat
Old 07-23-2007, 10:28 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #6