Help

Music Teachers

Class Suggestions?

>

MrsTchrLady

Class Suggestions?
Old 01-21-2016, 01:46 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Okay...so I am a Middle School Music Teacher. I teach 3 sections of band, 1 section of choir and 2 sections of drumline. Drumline is a "general music" class required for kids who are not in band. It is only a quarter long (9 weeks). It is part of a rotation with PE, Art and Technology. I started this class several years ago to help with numbers in other classes. To be honest, I am getting a bit burned out with this class. Do any of you have any suggestions for another "general music" type class (performance based is okay) I could do? I really do NOT want to do a music appreciation class. Boring in my opinion. I want something the kids will be excited about and be willing to work at. I do not have a huge budget, so I cannot just go out and purchase a piano lab or 30 guitars. Any and all suggestions are welcome and appreciated. Thanks in advance!

MrsTchrLady is offline   Reply With Quote

omacrulzzz

Recorders?
Old 03-31-2016, 07:19 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I teach elementary, but I know some teacher's who do soprano recorder in middle school. They are relatively cheap (you can get them for under 3 dollars on some websites) and you could either get the kids to buy them or maybe fundraise through donorschoose.org to get a couple of sets. Then you could basically teach them like a beginning band course with a reproducible book like Recorder Karate or Artie Almeida's Recorder Express (around 30 dollars each). Recorder Karate has nine songs and you could have playing tests every Friday with a certificate or "Karate Belt" for each one completed. The other upside is that recorder is a great pre-band instrument, especially for potential woodwind players.