Help

Substitute Teachers

Administration does not like me disciplining kids

>

Bobbies

Administration does not like me disciplining kids
Old 02-26-2020, 11:16 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Good day. I have been subbing in a city of roughly 300,000 people for about 5 years now. I learned very quickly to stay away from elementary and middle school. I found a liking to high school as it's more laid back, don' have to have an eye on kids at all times. Anyways, I have been subbing a lot at the urban district, 5% black and 80% latino. The students are very bad sometimes, and I have to raise my voice all the time so I am heard. Also, I have on occasion sent students out, (they all came back in 20 minutes and were worse). The students do not like me because I don't take their nonsense. Well, I was called into the principal's office. He told me that the students and two teachers have complained that I am rude and they want to know when I'll get banned, but before that happens, the principal wanted to ask me what's going on. This school calls me on occasion, last thing in the morning because they can't find subs. Also, the principal had no idea where we signed in at! I have now been told by one school I was too lenient and now told I am too strict? What do you make of this? He gave me two days where he got a bad report from a teacher. It was one of those days, a para was in there, the other was a nightmare of a class. To let you know, as soon as the meeting was over, I cancelled all of my sub jobs there on AESOP, and I will NEVER go back.

Bobbies is offline   Reply With Quote

bodhimom

Old 02-26-2020, 12:58 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

That is exactly what I would have done. I worked in three districts before I found a school that I actually look forward to going to. Try others. It makes all the difference in the world. And the school I'm at, that I love, is 50% Hispanic. ...and I'm not.

You're lucky, if you call it that, that they even asked for your side. They often don't.