Any Advice for a 2nd Career in Special Ed? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Career Decisions

Any Advice for a 2nd Career in Special Ed?

>

Ron

Ron

Any Advice for a 2nd Career in Special Ed?
Old 05-08-2007, 08:14 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

After 21 years as a legal secretary, I'm losing my job to outsourcing and planning on attending graduate school in September 2007. I want a master's degree in Special Education. I've been volunteering with sick and abused kids for three years at a hospital and a shelter. I'd really appreciate your views on Special Ed as a second career: What will a typical day of teaching be like? Will my age (54) be a plus or minus? Will I get to spend a lot of time with the kids, or will I be buried in paperwork? Are the schools generally supportive of teachers, or are they entrenched bureaucracies that will impede me? What kind of salary can I expect? Would I be better off getting another legal secretary job (at $65,000 per year) and continuing to volunteer? Please tell me about your experiences in Special Ed.

Lottalove

Two points of view...
Old 05-08-2007, 09:30 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

First, if you LOVE what you do the sick and abused you might be okay...I started teaching SpEd at 40 after 10 yr as a Social Worker. My days are up and down and never boring....It can be physically exhausting keeping up with them on "manic" days.... Your age is not as important as your attitude toward life. You need a LOT of patience with this particular group of students. As for school support, as with any teaching job, it depends on the school and the Admin there...There is a lot of behind-the-scenes paperwork but it should be fairly automated for the most part and would probably seem minor compared what a legal sec usually sees. The lesson plans and "out front" stuff will depend on district policy and your own level of expectations. Are you a perfectionist...obsessive/compulsive or anal-ret...you get the picture....