Help

Primary Grades (K-2)

Messy work

>

Teachercat2

Messy work
Old 11-08-2018, 11:05 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have a question for all the early childhood teachers. I was a teacher for a long time mostly teaching K-2 regular and special ed. In the schools I taught in (and in my classroom), neatness/effort mattered!! If a student had clearly rushed or their work was illegible I would make them redo it, yes even in Kinder. If I knew a child had fine motor issues there may have been some leniency.
Now I have my own child in kindergarten in a school district that seems very old fashioned I guess, than my old district. My daughter brings home work that is extremely messy!! It concerns me as to what she is doing in the classroom, I know writing/drawing is not her best thing but she can definitely do better. Would you speak to her teacher about making her do a better job on her work? Ive already talked to my daughter as nicely as I can, reminding her to try her best on her work at school. But I have not seen any improvement.
I guess my other question is when would you ask to have your child evaluated for OT? As I have taught K, her skills are way below other students in terms of forming letters/drawing, but she has no trouble zipping zippers or threading beads... so I'm confused what it is she is truly having a hard time with. Thanks for your help!

Teachercat2 is offline   Reply With Quote

ElizabethJoy

Messy
Old 11-14-2018, 03:20 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I would definitely have a conversation with your daughter's teacher about where your daughter is at compared to other students in her class.

Kids fine motor skills in general are inferior compared to kids even 5-10 years ago. iPads! Not saying this is the reason for your own daughter, but many kids spend so much time on devices that there's not much left over for drawing, coloring, creating.