Help

First Grade

Daily 5 read to self

>

Echen89

Daily 5 read to self
Old 09-04-2016, 06:35 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a first grade teacher and I just had a question about the read to self portion of the daily 5. What constitutes breaking stamina? If they look away from their books for just one moment? If they hum or read out loud? Or is it when they stop reading for a large portion of time? Thank you. Im a complete newbie teacher and appreciate the help.

Echen89 is offline   Reply With Quote

linda2671

Welcome Echen89!
Old 09-04-2016, 07:25 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I think that that is a decision every teacher has to make for herself. If they are looking around, talking, getting up to get more books, they are definitely breaking stamina. I think if they just look up for a moment, and go back to reading, that's okay.
Some students are pretty good at staring blankly or turning pages randomly to try to make you think they are reading. Those are the ones you have to watch, and try to show them how to really read the pictures and try to read the words.
linda2671 is offline   Reply With Quote

K-Jeanne

Old 09-04-2016, 07:31 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I agree with what Linda stated. You need to define what you are looking for with your students. I've even had some of my students model what I am looking for. This way everyone understands my expectation. In the beginning of the year, 5 minutes is a long time....make it attainable at first and then make your expectations longer and longer as they develop stamina! Good luck!
K-Jeanne is offline   Reply With Quote

Echen89

Getting new books
Old 09-04-2016, 07:48 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

Oh wow thanks! I was unsure about it. About getting up to get new books, what about if they finish their book? They bring their book boxes with them before they start R2self. Would it be breaking stamina if they switched books from their book box? Thank you so much! Oh and by the way, im a he😄.

linda2671

Old 09-04-2016, 07:56 PM