Help

Substitute Teachers

Substitute teacher removed from job

>

J-Mo

Substitute teacher removed from job
Old 08-31-2018, 10:09 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hey guys! So I had my very first substitute teaching job last week. I have been a student teacher candidate for the last 2 years, and I have a 4 month gap between my last Master's in Ed class and my student teaching, and I already finished the credential classes. So I decided to start subbing to get experience, and to make a little money.

I purposely chose my first job to be and IA and to be a half day, so I could ease into this new sub life. It was for a sev/mod sped pre-k (preschool) class at a public school. I honestly thought I was doing really well. I thought the teacher liked me, and the other aides too. I felt I was helpful when needed.

At the end of the day, I left my name, email, and number with the teacher and said, "I left my contact info with you. This was my first day subbing, and I would really appreciate any feedback, positive or negative, to help me become the best sub I can be. If you have the time that is." She smiled at me and said I was very helpful and effective, and did great.

Days later, I saw another sub position open for the same class, and I picked it up. Later that day, I got an email saying I was removed from the position (this district uses Aesop for their sub-pool). We were told that either a sub job can be canceled, meaning the teacher no longer needed his/her class to be covered, or we can be removed. When removed, it can be due to a few things, such as the teacher doesn't like you, the teacher doesn't think you are appropriate or suitable, or the teacher has a preferred sub they would rather take the job.