The Job Search

Peculiar Situation

>

Yvaine

Yvaine

Peculiar Situation
Old 04-17-2019, 05:25 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi there, fellow teachers! I have a peculiar situation on my hands and would appreciate any insight.
I have been applying to jobs in my state for the 2019-20 school year. I have put in well over 50 applications to multiple districts since jobs started appearing in late February. I have attended multiple job fairs and e-mailed the principals of a few promising schools. I have an advanced degree and 3+ years of applicable experience. I am certified in several grade levels/areas and possess a current certificate.

Back in mid-March, I received two phone calls for on-site interviews. I attended both interviews and was informed by both interview committees that I should not expect an answer for at least two weeks minimum. This was fine with me at the time, as other opportunities were being posted online in spades. Hereís the thing, though: Since March, I have only gotten these TWO interviews. An even more puzzling aspect: Out of the 1000+ ranked schools in my state, BOTH schools rank in the top thirty! Either of these schools would be an amazing opportunity, especially since the teaching position (s) reflect my background and experience.