Help

Special Education

Severe/Profound Multi test

>

tabat32

Severe/Profound Multi test
Old 11-02-2019, 06:14 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Good morning. I am currently a certified general education teacher and former NBCT in Oklahoma who has been placed in the Level 3 Autism class. I have no formal SPED training and have taken the Severe/Profound Test 2 times and have failed my most recent test by 4 points. I failed my first test by 5 points, I guess that's progress.
The problem I'm having is passing the writing prompt. I answer the questions just as I have done with all other certifications tests making sure to include each topic they're requesting and citing from the prompt but my score has remained the exact same both time. The study guides I used weren't much help in this area and neither is the internet. Can anyone give me a little insight on what you did to pass this section of the test? Obviously I'm doing something wrong , I just don't know what.

tabat32 is offline   Reply With Quote

NewCAteacher

?
Old 11-02-2019, 03:58 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Iíve never heard of a severe/profound test. In CA, ALL teachers have to pass a basic skills test (essentially skills that you should have learned in middle and high school) as well as a reading instruction competency test. This applies to all teachers whether they are doing regular Ed or SPED (even severe SPED).

For the writing prompt, are they wanting you to write an essay with theme, organization, standard conventions, etc. or is it more to assess your knowledge of effective practices for students with severe disabilities?
NewCAteacher is offline   Reply With Quote

GoodEnough85

Can you
Old 11-03-2019, 09:56 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

go to testing websites and look at sample tests? When I took the test for my Praxis and later the Pearson core content tests, I went to ETS and looked at the sample tests in any areas even remotely connected to my areas. (ETS called them TAG or test-at-a-glance.)