BusyBoard

Teaching for DOD

>

Missamy19

Teaching for DOD
Old 02-09-2020, 06:39 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi!
I am in the process of applying to teach for the DOD. Can anyone tell me what the process is like and how competitive it is? I have 10 years of teaching experience, a Master's Degree, and I am dual certified to teach Elementary Education and Special Education.
Thanks!
Amy

Missamy19 is offline   Reply With Quote

GreyhoundGirl

Old 02-10-2020, 05:42 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I know someone who just did this. I cant tell you the process (but she did indicate it was extensive), but it sounds fascinating. Id love to hear more about it.
GreyhoundGirl is offline   Reply With Quote

TAOEP

Competitive
Old 02-10-2020, 08:57 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I believe it is very competitive, especially for "desirable" locations, such as western Europe. However, if you are flexible and interested, go for it! Obviously some people are hired, and it could be you.
TAOEP is offline   Reply With Quote

daffodils

DoD schools
Old 02-10-2020, 09:49 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I can't tell you much about the process as I haven't done it. But we are overseas now with Department of State and my DD will be attending the DOD school in the fall. They've already requested I apply for a sub job since it can take SIX MONTHS for your sub clearance to go through. It is a huge process applying to be a sub so I have to assume for a full time job it would be equally huge.

Special ed should give you a big jump!

I definitely encourage you to look at schools outside the normal Western Europe type positions. Our post is lovely, but not highly sought after. Living is good. We've spent 5 years so far overseas at 3 different posts. I am happy to PM if you want to learn more about life in general at these sorts of postings.