Help

ESL/LEP

Anyone ever feel like...

>

SportingKC

Anyone ever feel like...
Old 03-05-2012, 06:05 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I feel like I'm a horrible ESL teacher. I am certified, but I'm not fluent in Spanish (which I know that I don't need to be). However, to communicate with families, it would be good if I could speak Spanish.

I have a fairly outdated curriculum, and zero budget for updating or PD. I've observed in another school, but their population is significantly different than mine.

I am starting to wonder if it wouldn't be better if I went back into the general education classroom (which I loved, and felt confident about) and left an ESL opening for my district to hire someone a bit more qualified.

Am I just feeling sorry for myself because I have 6 weeks of testing coming up, or should I step back and leave this job for someone a bit better qualified.

SportingKC is offline   Reply With Quote

Cow Pie

Me too
Old 03-05-2012, 07:30 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I often feel inadequate because I don't speak Spanish - at all. It would be lovely to have direct conversations with my families. My plan is to take a spanish class this summer.

I fell into my position because apparently I am the only one around with the licensure. I have no set curriculum, I pretty much follow what the other language arts teachers are doing and support my students by pre-teaching or re-teaching those concepts with scaffolding, etc.

I'm sure you're a great teacher and are just second guessing yourself right now. If you're still feeling like this in a few weeks it might be time for a change. How difficult would it be to move back to general ed?

As far as PD, have you looked into National Board Certification? It's changed the way I look at teaching and made me a more effective teacher for my ELD kids. It really helps you see the positive impact you are making.

6 weeks of testing? Wow! You can do it! Summer's almost here!
Cow Pie is offline   Reply With Quote

grav_def