The VENT

teacher identity crisis

>

more balance

more balance

teacher identity crisis
Old 12-27-2009, 07:24 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Anyone ever feel that they had a teacher identity crisis? I enjoyed my role as teacher, but it has been in this last year that I have really seen how much of my identity was based upon that/this role. How do you or how did you find balance when you see that so much of your identity now revolves around your role as teacher? My years in the classroom were/have been great, but looking back on the end of my life I hope that I live a balanced and full well rounded life. Need to find more balance this new year and new decade.Thanks!

teachfla

no balance here
Old 12-27-2009, 07:39 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Despite professional help, I was unable to find that balance. Ultimately, it has led to my decision to leave the classroom at the end of this year. I am very at peace with my decision. I can now see the light at the end of the tunnel.

I am not good at turning myself off. I ate, slept, and breathed teaching for many years. I loved it until I realized I had no non-teaching friends or someone to share life with. I took time off, rekindled friendships, and found that special someone. But trying to go back to teaching and keep up those relationships is not possible for me. I am impressed with those with the drive and dedication to stay. Good luck finding your balance. But remember you are not a failure if you can't find a balance (I struggled mightily over that). It just means there's something else out there for you!
teachfla is offline   Reply With Quote

ShyMiss

Very consuming career
Old 12-27-2009, 07:39 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3