Pros and Con of teaching younger kids rather than older kids - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Future Teachers

Pros and Con of teaching younger kids rather than older kids

>

Runewolf

Pros and Con of teaching younger kids rather than older kids
Old 04-28-2016, 07:54 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

So I am studying to become an Elementary school teacher though I don't know what grade or if I get to choose a grade. I switched my major from Teaching Biology to Elementary because it just didn't feel right. Could anyone give me some pros and cons when it comes to teaching the younger kids than the older kids?

Runewolf is offline   Reply With Quote

Oncidium

Old 04-29-2016, 04:32 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Cons: Younger kids: You cannot leave them alone for a second. You get very few breaks, for going to the bathroom, or just to breath, all day. You need to teach basic things that will get boring soon. Crying babies. Lots of parents sending kids to school sick, and you getting their diseases. Peeing in pants. Bathrooms. Lining up. Crying tantrums. Special snowflake parents. Hover-moms.
Pros: They genuinly want to learn, and show real love and affection. The work is not counted in a permanent record. You can be the first to influence them to love reading/knowledge.

Older kids (middle school high school). Cons: Hormones, telephones. Bullying. Teenage rebellion. Most are pretty sick of school by now. Tests count and if you have apathetic kids it is very hard to explain that they have only a few years to get with it.
Pros: higher thinking abilities. More interesting. Can formulate own opinions. You get planning time you can actually use for planning. More breaks. Less parent conferences.